Trump Expands COVID-19 Travel Ban to UK and Ireland: Effective March 16, 2020

On March 14, 2020, President Trump expanded the temporary travel ban to the United Kingdom (excluding overseas territories outside of Europe) and Ireland in response to the global COVID-19 outbreak. The new ban went into effect 11:59 p.m. EST on March 16, 2020. This proclamation does not apply to persons aboard a flight scheduled to arrive in the United States that departed prior to 11:59 p.m. EST on March 16, 2020. The new ban has the same restrictions as the travel bans already in place for China, Iran and the Schengen Area of Europe. Except for U.S. citizens, lawful permanent residents, and their immediate family members, the entry of foreign nationals who were physically present within the United Kingdom or Ireland during the 14-day period prior to their intended entry into the United States is suspended. Similar to the travel ban for the Schengen Area of Europe, the travel ban for the United Kingdom and Ireland is expected to be enforced for at least 30 days. However, this is subject to change given the rapidly evolving travel restrictions in response to the COVID-19 outbreak. Clients should contact our office for any questions related to the travel ban.

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square