Trump Expected to Announce Expansion of Travel Ban on 3rd Anniversary of Executive Order

On January 22, 2020, Trump announced to reporters at the World Economic Forum in Switzerland of his plan to renew and expand the travel ban to additional countries. Although it is unknown how many countries will be affected, it is rumored that the countries under consideration for immigration restriction include Belarus, Myanmar (Burma), Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Nigeria, Sudan and Tanzania.

It is expected that Trump will make a formal announcement on January 27, 2020, the third anniversary of the original, highly controversial travel ban that restricted travel for nationals of certain Muslim-majority countries. The current iteration of the travel ban that is in place under order of the U.S. Supreme Court suspends entry under varied visa restrictions for foreign nationals from Iran, Libya, North Korea, Somalia, Syria, Venezuela and Yemen.

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square