IMPORTANT UPDATE: Trump Administration Confirms that Executive Order Banning Foreign Nationals from

As we reported yesterday, Trump signed an Executive Order yesterday afternoon signaling abrupt changes to U.S. immigration policy. Among other security-related measures, the Order bans admission and readmissions of foreign nationals from Iraq, Iran, Syria, Sudan, Libya, Somalia, and Yemen for at least 90 days. It was not clear from the language of the Order whether it would be applied to permanent residents (aka “green card” holders), in addition to foreign nationals in temporary visa status. Based on news reports, and statements from the White House and Department of Homeland Security, we can confirm today that the ban is being applied to permanent residents from Iraq, Iran, Syria, Sudan, Libya, Somalia, and Yemen. We are again advising foreign nationals from these countries, including permanent residents, to avoid traveling outside the United States. Foreign nationals from these countries who are currently outside the United States and seeking to enter or reenter may not be allowed to board planes bound for the United States, or may be detained, and/or denied admission upon arrival at U.S. airports. The other provisions of the Executive Order are only slightly different from the draft version leaked earlier this week, which we summarized in our alert published on Thursday, January 26th. We will provide a comprehensive overview of the implications of this Order early next week.

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square